2018 WNY Queens Results
by Henry Allenbach on February 1,2018

On Sunday January 28th, 84 WNY women bowlers gathered at Mallwitz's Island Lanes to compete for the title of 2018 WNY Queens champion. Bowlers were ranked into three divisions by average and competed for over $2900 in prize fund.

In Division 1, after a four game qualifier, there was a tie for the top spot. Julie Selk and Jessica Mamon lead the field with 966. A 9th and 10th frame roll off seeded Selk in the top spot. In the step ladder finals, 5th seed Kristina Szczerbinski defeated 4th seed Carrie Racsumberger 279 - 207. Szczerbinski then took on 3rd seed Sarah Germano and won 226 - 189. In the semifinal match, Szczerbinski fell to 2nd seed Jessica Mamon 237 - 225. Top seed Selk then defeated Mamon 268 - 189 to capture the crown.

Division 2 qualifying was led by youth bowler, Kendyll Jaskier with 880 total pin fall. The step ladder final began with 5th seed Kelly Normandin defeating 4th seed Deanna Turco 201 - 174. Normandin then fell to 3rd seed Denise Daniels 204 - 194. Daniels was then defeated by 2nd seed Emily Crone 199 - 180. This set up a youth bowler final of Jaskier vs Crone. Kendyll Jaskier dominated the finals by shooting 290 to Crone's 147.

Division 3 started off with a tie for the 5th spot. Kelly Cycon and Joanna Marie tied with 716. After a 9th and 10th frame roll off, Cycon was able to move on to the step ladder finals. Her first opponent, Lynn Zagorski fell to defeat 244 - 138. Cycon moved on to 3rd seed Madelyn Jensen and again defeated her 225 - 169. Cycon finally fell to 2nd seed Lorie Digati in a close match 184 - 183. Digati moved on to take on the high qualifier for Division 3, DenayJah Glasco. Glasco shot 820 for the qualifying round and held on to that top spot by defeating Digati in another close match 179 - 176.

Tournament Sponsor Forrest Weaver of Few-Dew Deliveries and Tonawandas USBC President Mark Buffington presented the winners their crowns and winnings.

Congratulations to our Queens Champions. Next year the WNY Queens tournament will be hosted by the Lockport USBC.

Julie Selk Kendyll Jaskier DenayJah Glasco

Division 1

Division 2

Division 3

This website and its content is copyright of Tonawandas USBC Association - © Tonawandas USBC Association 2011. All rights reserved.